A possible response to my triangular brief

Following on from my initial look into about typefaces, I’ve been thinking about designing my own type face as a response to my ‘triangle’ brief – using the triangle as a basic shape for all of the letters – pretty tricky, and I don’t know if it’ll work but I think but I’ll give it a go…
I’ve already made a few initial sketches for some of the forms and made some notes about the other connotations that triangles provoke for me:


In my response to this brief, I’ve made a few considerations:

Current examples

I had a quick look around for existing triangular typefaces – I haven’t found a great deal of them, certainly none which appear to have obvious triangular shaped letters, they tend to take the form of letters within triangles, they also tend to have a map/OS symbol feel to them. So far, it doesn’t seem as though there are any mainstream triangular typefaces, I could be on to something here…or maybe there is a good reason that there aren’t any about…

OS Style

Some other variations

– Of these, ‘Sinaloa’ seems to be the closest match, although it appears to use other shapes to form glyphs as well.

Kerning/Fit/Forms:

Making my typeface fit together will be the most difficult challenge – I’ve learnt there is almost a science to making glyphs fit together neatly and legibly. Whilst looking through the typeface tools on the Microsoft website, there are actually developer tools for testing a typeface after you make it. I expect that, considering the base shape of each of the letters in my proposed font, it will be difficult to create a typeface which is 100% compatible – It is probably more likely to work as a decorative font.

Presentation:

A few weeks ago, I think I must have seen a picture or a reference to ‘Letraset’ in a book somewhere or another – as I’ve had some real flashbacks about the way my Dad used to produce artwork when I was much younger. I always remember him using Letraset, which is essentially a sheet of dry transfer letters, which you rub into place with the aid of guidelines. Letraset would allow a graphic designer to add text to artwork, in a wide variety of typefaces, in a clean and far more efficient way compared with other methods at the time. Once the word or line of text was created, the section would then be ‘cut and pasted’ onto the main piece of artwork which would be used to create printing plates and so on…

As such, Letraset remains a childhood memory for me – it has a very distinctive look and feel to it which I really like, from it’s original form on the acetate, to the finished look on a piece of artwork. In the interest of my brief, I thought that it would serve as a great framing device for my triangular typeface. I managed to get hold of a few sheets so I’ll try to recreate the layout and then present my final typeface as a sheet of Letraset…not a bad idea!

I also found a really interesting essay by Roger Whitehouse: ‘The Designer Is Dead, Long Live the Designer’, which documents some of the main changes in graphic design over the past few years; it also makes references the practice of generating artwork using Letraset.

Leave a Reply

